Available for purchase online (only in Japan?)

Preview, recap and analysis:

Aussie youngsters
Three women who had a great Australian Open… and two who didn’t

A trip down memory lane:

Australian Open trivia
The tragedy of Daphne Akhurst
The Norman Brookes Challenge Cup
1960 Australian Open: Neale Feaser, a costly volley
1960-63 Australian Open: Jan Lehane four time runner-up
1987-1988 Swedes spoil the party
January 11, 1988: first day of play at Flinders Park
2001 Australian Open: Pat’s last chance
2001 Australian Open final: Andre Agassi defeats Arnaud Clément
2003 Australian Open: last Grand Slam title for Agassi
2005 Australian Open: Heartbreak for Lleyton Hewitt


Australian Open 2013: live like a player

Fashion and gear:

Roger Federer Nike outfit preview
Rafael Nadal Nike outfit preview
Roger Federer Nike outfit
Juan Martin Del Potro Nike outfit
Serena Williams Nike outfit
Maria Sharapova Nike outfit
Victoria Azarenka Nike outfit
Li Na Nike outfit
Ana Ivanovic adidas dress
Venus Williams dress by EleVen
Kei Nishikori and Shingo Kunieda Uniqlo outfit
Lleyton Hewitt C’mon outfit


Who will win the Australian Open 2013?

  • Novak Djokovic (44%, 56 Votes)
  • Roger Federer (41%, 53 Votes)
  • Andy Murray (7%, 9 Votes)
  • Juan Martin Del Potro (3%, 4 Votes)
  • Other (2%, 3 Votes)
  • Tomas Berdych (2%, 2 Votes)
  • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (1%, 1 Votes)
  • David Ferrer (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Richard Gasquet (0%, 0 Votes)
  • Milos Raonic (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 128

Loading ... Loading ...

Who will win the Australian Open 2013?

  • Serena Williams (37%, 45 Votes)
  • Maria Sharapova (26%, 31 Votes)
  • Victoria Azarenka (17%, 20 Votes)
  • Agnieszka Radwanska (7%, 8 Votes)
  • Li Na (5%, 6 Votes)
  • Other (5%, 6 Votes)
  • Angelique Kerber (2%, 2 Votes)
  • Petra Kvitova (2%, 2 Votes)
  • Sam Stosur (1%, 1 Votes)
  • Sara Errani (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 121

Loading ... Loading ...

London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games posters

Paralympics in the city:

Snapshots from London: the Agitos on Tower Bridge
Snapshots from London: the Agitos on the National Gallery
Snapshots from London: Mandeville, the Paralympic mascot
Snapshots from London: Olympics in the city
London Paralympic venues
A day out in the Olympic Park – part one
A day out in the Olympic Park – part two

Paralympic Wheelchair Tennis:

Paralympic Wheelchair Tennis FAQ
Eton Manor, wheelchair tennis venue for the Paralympics
Esther Vergeer
Shingo Kunieda
2012 Paralympics: Esther Vergeer vs Aniek Van Koot pics and videos
2012 Paralympics: Shuker-Whiley vs Khantasit-Techamaneewat

Shingo Kunieda

After being treated for spinal cancer, Shingo Kunieda started his wheelchair tennis career at age 11, and then joined the international circuit at 17. He won Paralympic gold in Beijing in 2008 and, with Satoshi Saida won doubles gold at 2004 Athens 2004 and bronze in 2008 Beijing.

Kunieda has won a total of 20 Grand Slam since 2006, including 11 in singles. He was ITF Word Champion Tour for four successive years from 2007 to 2010 and was year-end doubles n°1 in 2007.
After losing his semifinal at the Wheelchair Tennis Masters in November 2007, Kunieda was unbeaten for the next three years, building-up a 106-match winning steak before losing to Stéphane Houdet in the semifinals of the 2010 Masters.

Kunieda’s run of consecutive Grand Slam singles titles came to an end at Roland Garros in June 2011, when he was beaten in the semifinals by Maikel Scheffers. Altough he bounced back to win the US Open in New York, injury denied him the opportunity of contesting the year-end Wheelchair Tennis Masters and his four year-reign as world n°1 was ended by Maikel Scheffers in December 2011.

Shingo could become the first player to win two men’s singles Paralympic titles.

Just to play the game is what I’m looking forward to the most about London. To win a gold medal in both singles and doubles is my biggest goal.

Pic: ITF Olympic book

When is the Paralympic Wheelchair Tennis competition?

1-8 September

Where will the Paralympic Wheelchair Tennis take place?

The Paralympic tennis event will take place at Eton Manor, the only purposed-built London 2012 Paralympic venue.
Situated towards the north end of Olympic Park, Eton Manor features nine competition courts, all designed in striking blue color, and four practice courts. The venue is based on the grounds of the old Eton Manor Sports Club, once a popular community sports facility in the 1990s.

When did Wheelchair Tennis first appear in the Paralympics?

After featuring as an exhibition sport at the Seoul 1988 Paralympic Games, Wheelchair Tennis was introduced as a full medal event at the Barcelona 1992 Games, and has featured at every Games since then.
Quad events have been added in Athens in 2004.

How is Wheelchair Tennis played?

Wheelchair tennis follows the same rules as able-bodied tennis. Except the ball is allowed to bounce twice. The second bounce can be either inside or outside the court boundaries.

How many gold medals are up for grabs?

6. There are six medal events to be contested: men’s and women’s Singles, men’s and women’s Doubles, Quad Singles and Quad Doubles. Quad players have an impairment that affects three or more limbs.

Who are the favorites?

Women: Unbeaten in over 460 singles matches since 2003, Dutch Esther Vergeer is a sure thing for the podium. She bids for her fourth successive singles medal at London 2012. Her toughest competitors will be compatriots Aniek van Koot and Jiske Griffioen, as well as Sabine Ellerbrock from Germany.

Men: The competition is wide open in the men’s event. Shingo Kunieda of Japan could become the first player to win two men’s singles Paralympic titles. But he has plenty of strong challengers. They are headed by world number one Stéphane Houdet of France and Maikel Scheffers and Ronald Vink of the Netherlands.
Young Argentinian Gustavo Fernandez could also cause a surprise.

Quad: This could come down to a duel between two longtime rivals: American David Wagner, who earned a bronze at Beijing and gold at Athens, and Great Britain’s Peter Norfolk – nicknamed The Quadfather – who took the gold in Athens and Beijing.