2007 Indian Wells : Nadal defeats Djokovic

Everyone expected a Federer-Nadal final. But lucky loser Guillermo Canas ended Federer’s 41 matchs unbeaten streak in the 2nd round, just 5 short of Guillermo Vilas’ record of 46 straight victories.
Canas defeated Federer again one week later in Miami and made it to the finals where he lost to… Djokovic.

After straight sets wins over Clément, Verdasco, Ferrero, Chela and Roddick, Nadal faced Djokovic in final.
It was the first final ever for Djokovic who captured his first title in Miami two weeks later after defeating Nadal in quarter finals.

Visibly nervous, Djokovic made a lot of unforced errors in the first set, winning just two points total the first four games. Nadal secured the opening set 6-2. Djokovic managed to shake off the nerves in the second set but Nadal broke his serve at 5-5 on his second chance and finished off the match in the next game.

Novak Djokovic

Nadal ended a 9 month title drought as he won his first tournament since 2006 French Open.

Rafa recaptured the title in 2009 when he crushed Andy Murray in final 6-1 6-2. It marked Nadal 13th Masters title.
Two weeks later the Scot won his third Masters 1000 in Miami with a 6-2, 7-5 victory over No. 3 Novak Djokovic. Can you see a trend there, hmm?

Nadal, 2007 Indian Wells: long shorts and sleeveless:

Rafael Nadal
Rafael Nadal

Nadal, 2009 Indian Wells: shorter shorts, sleeves:

Rafael Nadal

– Nadal became the first Spaniard to win the Indian Wells title since Alex Corretja in 2000
– Nadal became the first lefty winner since Marcelo Rios in 1998
– the 2007 Indian Wells final was the youngest final in Indian Wells tournament history

Leave a comment